The ABCs of sustainability
The South Tyrolean apple sector’s sustainable development strategy

The ABCs of sustainability

The South Tyrolean fruit sector has years of experience dealing with the many topics that have now been united under the banner of sustainability. Our activities have always been influenced in different ways by attempts to balance innovation and tradition, ecology and economy, and social equity and economic success, all while ensuring that everyone enjoys a fair and just share of this success. Though it is impossible to say exactly when agriculture and fruit growing specifically began addressing sustainability, we can pinpoint the precise moment at which the formal integration and organised development of our sustainapple sustainability strategy began. In autumn 2019, a large heterogeneous group of internal and external stakeholders was formed in order to systematically work on the programme and generate content concerning sustainability-related topics.

Are we doing well?

Stand at 13.04.2021

100
Concept phase
Completed
25
Detailed planning
10
Implementation
First action area

The South Tyrolean Apple as a global success model

The first of the three major action areas within our sustainapple strategy addresses the economising, professionalism and innovative capacity of our services. It also leads us to consider the strengths of our structures and assess our previous achievements. This is in response to a fact that cropped up repeatedly while we were developing our strategy and served as a welcome surprise: external observers, namely experts located beyond the borders of our province, view South Tyrolean agriculture, fruit growing and apple growing as a pioneering model of innovation, professionalism and sustainability.

A large number of practical and research excursions have visited South Tyrol to view our model companies and to profit from our expertise in wine, fruit and apple growing. On top of this, the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) has designated us as a model Learning and Innovation Network for Sustainable Agriculture (LINSA). We have therefore decided to dedicate the first action area to this fact, with the objective of doing justice to the traditions and achievements of previous generations. Our shared structures represent a wonderful legacy handed down by hard-working, smart and equitable farming communities and cooperatives.

more[+] less [-]
Target 1.1

Taking pride in the South Tyrolean model of structural sustainability

Target 1.2

Pioneering a supra-regional circular economy

Target 1.3

Using our innovative strength for the future

Second action area

We promote healthy eating

The second major action area of our sustainapple strategy focuses on high-quality food as well as efforts to preserve people’s health and vitality. Providing a high-quality sustainable food supply and boosting health throughout society are a pair of key objectives within the 2030 Agenda of the United Nations – and serve as two of our core goals.

Fruit and apples have not only enlivened the human diet for centuries, they have also been proven to boost health and vitality. Best of all, our apple-growing operations see people work to benefit others while enjoying fair conditions, social equity and a share in our success. 100 per cent of our apples come from the family-run farms that represent the heart of South Tyrolean fruit growing.

more[+] less [-]
Target 2.1

Providing high-quality sustainable food

Target 2.2

Our apples boost health and vitality

Target 2.3

Farming families at the heart of fruit growing

Third action area

In partnership with nature

The classic conception of sustainability originally stems from agriculture and forestry. We can only use natural resources in a way that ensures they can continue to feed us over the long term. This is known in economics as ‘living off the interest’, meaning that your funds are not continually being drained.

To put it another way, you can only take so much wood from the forest as will grow back in the same period. Our partnership with nature is focused on conservation and cooperation, forming the crux of the third major action area in our sustainapple strategy. This also includes the core aspects of climate, environment, resource, soil, water and species protection, all of which encourage us to treat every living thing with care and respect.

more[+] less [-]
Target 3.1

Our mission: climate-positive fruit growing

Target 3.2

Plant health in partnership with nature

Target 3.3

Our legacy: a nature-conscious approach

#sustainapple

Das Drei-mal-Drei der Nachhaltigkeit
Strategie zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Südtiroler Apfelwirtschaft

Das Drei-mal-Drei der Nachhaltigkeit

Die Südtiroler Obstwirtschaft blickt auf eine langjährige Befassung mit jenen Themen zurück, die wir heute unter dem großen Dach der Nachhaltigkeit vereinen. Das Streben nach einer Balance von Innovation und Tradition, Ökologie und Ökonomie, sozialer Ausgewogenheit und wirtschaftlichem Erfolg sowie eine gerechte und faire Teilhabe aller am Erfolg, haben unser Handeln in unterschiedlicher Ausprägung seit jeher bestimmt. So können wir gar nicht sagen, seit wann sich Landwirtschaft und Obstbau mit Nachhaltigkeit im Speziellen beschäftigt. Zeitlich ganz genau können wir den Startschuss der formalisierten Zusammenschau und organisierten Entwicklung der vorliegenden Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie mit dem Titel sustainapple angeben. Im Herbst 2019 wurde eine größere, heterogene Gruppe bestehend aus internen und externen Stakeholdern zusammengerufen, um systematisch am Programm und den Inhalten zu Themen der Nachhaltigkeit zu arbeiten.

Liegen wir gut im Rennen?

Stand zum 04.03.2021

100
Konzeptphase
Abgeschlossen
25
Detailplanung
10
Umsetzung
1. Aktionsbereich

Südtiroler Apfel als weltweites Erfolgsmodell

Den ersten der drei großen Aktionsbereiche unserer sustainapple-Strategie stellen wir ins Feld des Wirtschaftens, der Professionalität und der Innovationskraft unserer Leistungen. Und wir bedenken dabei auch die Stärke unserer Strukturen und bisherigen Errungenschaften. Denn wir sind im Zuge der Entwicklung unserer Strategie immer wieder auf eine Tatsache hingewiesen worden, die uns anfangs doch eher überraschte.

Von außen betrachtet, also von Expertinnen und Experten außerhalb des Landes, wird die Südtiroler Landwirtschaft und darin der Obst- und Apfelanbau als Pionier und Vorbild für Innovativität, Professionalität und Nachhaltigkeit angesehen. Zahlreiche Exkursionen von Praxis- und Forschungsreisen kurven durchs Land, um unsere Vorzeigebetriebe zu besuchen und uns im Wein-, Obst- und Apfelanbau auf die Finger zu schauen. Selbst die FAO, die Food and Agricultural Organisation der Vereinten Nationen, bezeichnet uns als LINSA-Modell, als „Lern- und Innovationsnetzwerk für nachhaltige Landwirtschaft“.

mehr [+] weniger [-]
Zielbild 1.1

Stolz aufs Südtiroler Modell der strukturellen Nachhaltigkeit

Zielbild 1.2

Vorreiter einer überregionalen Kreislaufwirtschaft

Zielbild 1.3

Unsere Innovationskraft für die Zukunft nutzen

2. Aktionsbereich

Wir ernähren die Menschen gesund

Hochwertige Ernährung, der Erhalt der Gesundheit und Vitalität der Menschen stehen im Mittelpunkt des zweiten großen Aktionsbereichs unserer sustainapple-Strategie. Die Gesellschaft nachhaltig und hochwertig zu ernähren und dabei die Gesundheit zu fördern sind zwei zentrale Ziele in der UN-Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen – und sie sind es auch für uns.

Denn Obst und Äpfel bereichern seit Jahrhunderten den Speiseplan der Menschen und fördern dabei bewiesenermaßen deren Gesundheit und Vitalität. Das Schöne an unserer Geschichte ist, dass bei unseren Äpfeln Menschen für Menschen arbeiten – fair, sozial gerecht und mit Teilhabe am Erfolg. Denn unsere Äpfel stammen zu 100 Prozent aus bäuerlichen Familienbetrieben. Sie sind das Herz des Südtiroler Obstbaus.

mehr [+] weniger [-]
Zielbild 2.1

Wir ernähren die Menschen gesund

Zielbild 2.2

Unsere Äpfel fördern – Gesundheit und Vitalität

Zielbild 2.3

Die bäuerlichen Familien als das Herz des Obstbaus

3. Aktionsbereich

Die Natur als Partnerin

Das klassische Nachhaltigkeitsverständnis kommt ursprünglich aus der Land- und Forstwirtschaft. Wir können die natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen und Ressourcen nur so nutzen, dass diese dauerhaft in der Lage sind, uns zu ernähren. „Von den Zinsen leben“, lautet die Devise, und den Kapitalstock nicht kontinuierlich abzutragen.

Oder anders gesagt, dem Wald kann auf Dauer nur so viel Holz entnommen werden wie im selben Zeitraum nachwächst. Der Schutz und die Kooperation mit der Natur als unsere Lebenspartnerin steht im Mittelpunkt des dritten, großen Aktionsbereichs unserer sustainapple-Strategie. Hier kommen wir auf die weiteren, wesentlichen Kernaspekte Klima-, Umwelt-, Ressourcen-, Boden-, Wasser- und Artenschutz zu sprechen, die uns zu achtsamer Sorgfalt und respektvollem Umgang mit allem Lebendigen mahnen.

mehr [+] weniger [-]
Zielbild 3.1

Klimapositiver Obstbau ist unser Credo

Zielbild 3.2

Pflanzengesundheit mit der Natur als Partnerin

Zielbild 3.3

Ein achtsames Naturverständnis ist unser Vermächtnis

#sustainapple